qaolinks grafik blatt papier qaorecht

music for a summer evening
I.  Nocturnal Sounds
   (The Awakening)
II. Wanderer-Fantasy
III.The Advent
IV. Myth
V. Music of the Starry Night

Music for a summer evening (Makrokosmos III),
for two amplified pianos and percussion, was completed in Feb. 1974.

The work was commissioned by the Fromm Foundation and was written specifically for (and is dedicated to) Gilbert Kalish, James Freeman, Raymond DesRoches, and Richard Fitz. These four gifted performers premiered the work at Swarthmore College on March 30, 1974.

The combination of two pianos and percussion instruments was, of course, first formulated by Béla Bartók in his Sonata of 1937, and it is curious that other composers did not subsequently contribute to the genre. Bartók was one of the very first composers to write truly expressive passages for the percussion instruments; since those days there has been a veritable revolution in percussion technique and idiom and new music has inevitably assimilated these developments. The battery of percussion instruments required for Summer Evening is extensive and includes vibraphone, xylophone, glockenspiel, tubular bells, crotales (antique cymbals), bell tree, claves, maracas, sleighbells, wood blocks and temple blocks, triangles, and several varieties of drums, tam-tams, and cymbals.    ...weiter

Quatuor Attaque 

moderne Musik für Klavier und Schlagzeug 

logo klein